‘One Day’

Now, I know I said I wasn’t going to buy any more books until I finish the ones I have…but…firstly, I forgot to bring a book with me on a recent trip to Dublin and secondly my lovely boyfriend actually expressed an interest in reading this and he reads so infrequently that I just had to encourage him…

So anyway, I finished this book yesterday on the tube and after doing so, realised that the man next to me was also reading it…as is my best friend and a colleague at work, having been recommended to read it by three other colleagues…so let’s just say, I’d heard it was worth a read!

Although I knew the format of the book and the basic concept, I was surprised at how much I enjoyed fast-tracking through the lives of Emma Morley and Dexter Mayhew because I didn’t feel like I was missing out on anything. David Nicholls’ writing completely and utterly drew me in…my only regret was that I reached “that point” just before I had to get off of the tube and let’s just say, it put a different spin on my Wednesday.

The cultural references throughout the book were absolutely wonderful, a point that was reiterated by one of my three colleagues who had recommended it, during our various discussions about it. We’ve all had those ‘I wonder what we’ll be like when we’re older’ moments and pondered how different the world would be and retrospectively, it was just enthralling to look back and see how the world has changed since 1988 through the eyes of two friends, on the same date every year.

I found it absolutely absorbing, as a (sort-of) recent graduate, the evolution from aspiring University student to disheartened job-seeker, taking any job that will pay the bills without getting too demoralised…seeing friends getting married, having babies, getting promoted…although I’m only in my first job and have a lot more to achieve, I’m a planner…I know roughly how I want things to happen for me and reading Emma’s sections really kicked me into gear. I rarely find characters that I can relate to as much as Emma and this was both a delight and a wake-up call for me.

Also…I think we all know a ‘Dexter’…someone who was born with more doors open to them than us, who we consider to be rather wasteful...and yet we cannot stay away from them! My Granddad always says “…some people are takers, the rest of us are givers” and this echoed through my head when I read this book.

What I loved most about this book was that in spite of the unconventional format, it was so real. What the characters felt, I felt, what the characters thought about, I then thought about…I love books that move me to emotion. Regardless of which emotion, I find it absolutely fascinating that books can invoke such strong feelings in the reader. This is predominantly where my passion for books lies…from having to put my copy of Roald Dahl’s The Witches downstairs at bedtime, to crying my eyes out at Nicholas Sparks’ The Notebook, this book made me realise that there is only so much time in our lives to do what we want, go where we want, be who we want and that we shouldn’t waste a second!

So, there is only a couple of months left to read this book before the film comes out…Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess star as our protagonists and it will be interesting to witness both the chemistry between them and Anne’s Yorkshire accent…The trailer is available on IMDb but don’t forget to read the book a.s.a.p!

It’s simply wonderful!

3 thoughts on “‘One Day’

  1. I completely agree, LOVED this book. I couldn’t believe how much I cared what happened to Emma and Dex. Mark of a good writer I guess!
    And I’m going to reserve my judgement about Anne Hathaway until I’ve seen it, but she certainly doesn’t look like Emma did in my head…

  2. Pingback: ‘The Understudy’ « Laura Loves Reading

  3. Pingback: ‘Starter for Ten’ « Laura Loves Reading

Leave a Reply

