‘The Last Kestrel’

Dear reader…I have committed the ultimate book review blog faux pas…I forgot to review a book that I’d read…and also forgot that I’d read it!

The thing is, I really enjoyed The Last Kestrel by Jill McGivering! It is a brilliant book for fans of A Thousand Splendid Suns and To the end of the land! I feel truly awful for forgetting about it!

Unlike the two books mentioned above, this book shows the conflicts in Afghanistan from two perspectives. The first is the story of Ellen Thomas, an experienced war correspondent, determined to find out who murdered her friend Jalil (a translator) and the second narrative thread belongs to Hasina…a strong-willed Afghan woman who discovers that her only son Aref is part of an underground fighter movement and despite the tragedy and horror around her, is determined to protect him whatever the cost. The two lives interweave “with startling consequences for them both”…

This is a wonderful, although harrowing read and you can tell that McGivering has a lot of experience in journalism and foreign news correspondence, which adds to the quality of the writing style.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s