‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’

I avoided this book for a while…because in ‘One Day’ style, EVERYONE was telling me to read it and I decided to try and avoid the hype…The other reason I was avoiding it was that I read Jo Nesbo’s The Snowman first and got really into the Harry Hole series and Nesbo was declared “The new Stieg Larsson”…so I didn’t want to just suddenly jump into the Larsson trilogy…

However, as a crime-book lover, I couldn’t wait too long! After receiving a kindle for Christmas (thank you parents!), it was the first thing I downloaded. I realised quite quickly just how easy it was to buy books on the kindle…and bought about 10! I’ve now discovered that I can put books that I am desperate to read, in a wish list – frankly, a brilliant idea! Now I have about 20 books in said wish list…which is fine by me!

Anywho, so I started reading the first in the trilogy, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and was instantly hooked! I powered through this book in about 4 days and I didn’t guess the ending! Which, as you might know from reading my review of The Snowman and the other Harry Hole books…is a big thing! I usually guess the plot/murderer/motive of the books at about 70% of the way through…but just like Nesbo a few months back, Larsson fooled me! I realise I’m very late on the uptake on this one…I realise that most people have read all three of these books now but let me just say…WOW! What a corker!

The book begins at the end of a trial, at which financial reporter Mikael Blomkvist is found guilty of libel…it becomes apparent that his professional life is crumbling around him…parallel to this, we meet Lisbeth Salander, a quiet, unassuming genius who works as an investigator. Soon the two lives interweave over the case of a missing girl. The two work together to try and solve the case for an old gentleman who is desperate to find out what happened to his granddaughter Harriet, nearly four decades ago. In true crime fiction style, it turns out that there’s much more to this than a missing person’s case…oooOoooh!

Fast-paced, gripping and chilling! This is a fantastic book and I look forward to reading the others!

3 thoughts on “‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’

  1. Pingback: ‘Bossypants’ « Laura Loves Reading

  2. Pingback: ‘War Horse’ « Laura Loves Reading

  3. Pingback: ‘The Girl Who Played With Fire’ « Laura Loves Reading

Leave a Reply

